Updated 16 Oct 2026Best water heater9 min read
What is the best water heater in Singapore?
Quick answer
There is no single best brand: pick the type first, then compare element power, warranty and fit. For most HDB families of three or four, a 30–35L storage heater from a major brand at around $245–430 does the job; for one bathroom and one or two users, a basic instant heater at around $108–150 is enough.
Decide the type before the brand
Most "best water heater" lists jump straight to brands. The type matters more, because it decides what your bathroom can do and who is allowed to install it. Our instant vs storage guide goes deeper; this is the short version.
| If your home has... | Get | Why |
|---|---|---|
| One bathroom, one or two people, showers one at a time | Instant | Cheapest to buy, no tank, no PUB Licensed Plumber needed |
| Two bathrooms used in the evening rush | Storage, 30–35L | One tank can feed both bathrooms and the kitchen |
| A rain shower you want to feel strong | Storage, or an instant model with a pump | A basic instant heater heats only a few litres a minute |
| A bathtub | Storage, around 50L | No instant heater fills a tub with hot water |
| A piped gas supply you already use | Gas is possible | Must be installed by a licensed gas service worker |
Heat pump heaters exist too. AOS Bath, which sells them, claims bills drop by up to 75%, but gives no method, and we found no Singapore retail prices to compare. We left them out of the picks.
The brands you can actually buy here, compared
These are brands we found on the shelves of Courts, Gain City, Harvey Norman or the brand's own Singapore store on 16 October 2026. Prices are around what major retailers showed that week, and they change often.
| Brand | Types | Typical price | Standout | Warranty (from brand or retailer page) | Watch for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ariston | Storage, instant | Storage $274–549; instant $140–372 | Widest range: horizontal, slim, round, Wi-Fi | Storage: 5 yr tank, 1 yr element (Wi-Fi Andris2: lifetime element). Aures instant: 5 yr element, 1 yr parts | Some models use a 1.5 kW element and take 48–50 min to heat |
| Rheem | Storage (instant too) | Storage $245–580 | Big tanks up to 113L, horizontal EHG range is cheap | Not stated on Rheem Singapore's site or Gain City's listing; ask | Many larger sizes were out of stock |
| KDK | Storage, instant | Storage $269–329; instant $129–289 | Stainless steel tank on storage models | Storage: 2 yr parts, 5 yr tank. Instant: 2 yr | Only 20L and 30L storage sizes |
| Champs | Instant, storage | Instant $99–439; storage $249–279 | Cheapest decent instant units | Instant: 2 yr | Storage stock was thin |
| Mistral | Storage, instant | Storage $239–329; instant $98–459 | Big discounts off list price | Storage: 1 yr parts and labour, 5 yr tank and element | Discounts make the list price meaningless; compare the selling price |
| 707 | Storage, instant | Storage $279–368; instant $248–439 | Copper-tank instant models | Dalton storage: 2 yr | Dalton 25 uses a 2 kW element and carries a 1-tick energy label |
| Panasonic | Instant | $129–209 | Built-in earth leakage breaker on the U series | 1 yr | Short warranty for the price |
| Toshiba | Instant | $149–279 | 3.8 kW pump model | 1 yr on site | 3.8 kW draws more power than the usual 3.3 kW; check your circuit |
Joven is a name most ranking pages include. We could not find a Joven heater at Courts, Gain City, Harvey Norman or Best Denki on the day we checked, and its website did not load, so it is not in the table. Joven units are still sold through plumbers and online stores. If you are quoted one, check its SAFETY Mark number and ask for the warranty terms in writing.
Six picks for common Singapore homes
Each pick names a model we could verify on a brand page and at a Singapore retailer, with the price we saw that week.
Best for a 4-room HDB family: Ariston Pro RS J 35
| Spec | Ariston Pro RS J 35 | Rheem EHG-30 (cheaper option) |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 35L, horizontal | 30L, horizontal |
| Element power | 2.75–3.3 kW | 2.5–3.0 kW |
| Heat-up time (brand figure) | 28 min | 24 min |
| Size (W x H x D) | 591 x 380 x 398 mm | 540 x 380 mm |
| Warranty | 5 yr tank, 1 yr element | Not stated |
| Price, Oct 2026 | Around $304 (Harvey Norman) | Around $245 (Gain City) |
Thirty-five litres is a size up from the 30L that suits about four people, which helps when showers run back to back. The 3.3 kW element is why it reheats quickly. Ask whether your existing heater point can take that load.
Best for a tight ceiling or narrow wall: Ariston Slim3 RS 30 or KDK RG30AHM1
The Slim3 RS 30 is 330 mm tall and 342 mm deep, heats in 32 minutes at 2.5 kW, and costs around $429. The KDK RG30AHM1 is 323 mm tall and 310 mm deep, has a stainless steel tank with a 5-year tank warranty, and sells at around $299–329. Both are 70–76 cm wide, so measure the length of the wall too.
Best budget instant: Champs Auriga Core or KDK TG3BL1
The Champs Auriga Core is around $108 with a 2-year warranty, a 4-tick energy label and a polymer tank. The KDK TG3BL1 is around $129, also 2 years and 4 ticks. Both are 3.3 kW single-point heaters for an ordinary hand shower. For the copper-tank version, the Champs Virgo Ace is around $148.
Best rain shower with an instant heater: Ariston Aures Premium+ Pump & Rainshower
Around $372. Ariston's spec sheet gives a minimum water pressure of 0.1 bar, half that of its basic Aures Easy, so the built-in pump helps on upper floors. The heating element has a 5-year warranty. The Sharp WH-P315RN (around $348–371) is the alternative, with a 2-year warranty plus 5 years on the element and the DC pump. The Ariston still heats at most 7 litres a minute, so a large rain head will feel gentler than on a storage tank.
Best for a bathtub: a 50L storage tank, if you can get one
The Ariston Pro RS J 50 (50L, 40-minute heat-up, 5-year tank) was listed at around $335 at Gain City, but showed out of stock at Harvey Norman on 16 October. The Rheem EHG-50, around $288, and Rheem's vertical 57L to 113L tanks, around $465–580, were out of stock at Gain City the same day. Check stock before you plan the install date.
Best if you want app control: Ariston Andris2 Top Wi-Fi 30
Around $498, with a titanium element under a lifetime warranty and a 5-year tank. The catch is its 1.5 kW element: Ariston lists a 50-minute heat-up, against 28 minutes for the cheaper Pro RS J 35. Scheduling the heater from your phone partly makes up for that.
What the brand name does not tell you
Three numbers on the spec sheet separate these heaters more than the logo does.
- Element power. Ariston sells 30L tanks at 1.5 kW (48–50 minutes to heat) and 35L tanks at up to 3.3 kW (28 minutes). If people shower back to back, the faster tank matters more than the extra litres.
- The warranty split. "5-year warranty" usually means the tank. Elements are often 1 year, and parts on instant heaters are often 1 year. Read which part each number covers.
- The energy label. NEA's labelling scheme has covered storage, instant and heat pump water heaters since 1 April 2025. NEA says switching from a 1-tick to a 5-tick heater can save up to $115 a year at $0.27/kWh.
Check the SAFETY Mark number
Electric storage and instant water heaters are Controlled Goods and must carry the SAFETY Mark to be sold here. The mark carries a number you can search in the Consumer Product Safety Office's Register of Registered Controlled Goods. Ariston prints it on its spec pages, for example 221034-11 for the Aures Premium+ Pump & Rainshower.
Installation: who does it and what it costs
Buying the best heater does not help if it is installed wrongly. The rules differ by type.
| Work | Who must do it | Typical cost |
|---|---|---|
| Install or replace an electric storage heater | PUB Licensed Plumber, to SS 636 | $150–250 labour, like-for-like |
| Storage heater in a new position, extra piping | PUB Licensed Plumber | $250–750 labour |
| Install or replace an instant heater | Anyone for the plumbing; no PUB licence needed | $120–280 from a plumber; some retailers $70–90 with the unit |
| New power point for any heater | Licensed Electrical Worker (LEW) | $250–450 |
| Remove and dispose of the old heater | $30–80 | |
| Piped gas heater | Licensed gas service worker (EMA) | Not in our price data |
The Consumer Product Safety Office says a heater should be wired directly to the mains through a double pole switch by an LEW, never through a 3-pin plug or extension cord, and that a storage heater must come with a pressure relief valve.
A full storage swap, meaning a 25–35L unit, installation and removal of the old one, usually comes to about $400–800. Courts, for example, charges $70 to fit an instant heater with a standard head and $90 with a rain shower head when you buy the unit there.
We install and replace both types, island-wide and 24/7. Storage heater work is done by a PUB Licensed Plumber, and the price is agreed before work starts. Send a photo of your old heater's label on WhatsApp for a price range. See storage water heater installation, storage heaters in HDB flats, storage heater prices and instant water heater installation.
Narrowing it down further
If you have already picked a type, the dedicated guides compare more models: best instant water heater in Singapore and best storage water heater in Singapore. For sizing tables, HDB and condo checklists and price bands, see our water heater buying guide.
Related services
Frequently asked questions
What are the best hot water heaters to get?
Pick by type first. For a family sharing two bathrooms, a 30–35L storage heater such as the Ariston Pro RS J 35 (around $304 in October 2026) is a sound choice. For one bathroom, a basic instant heater such as the KDK TG3BL1 or Champs Auriga Core (around $108–129) is enough. Check the SAFETY Mark and the warranty split before paying.
Which storage heater is the best?
For most HDB families, a 30–35L tank with a fast element. Ariston's Pro RS J 35 heats in 28 minutes and has a 5-year tank warranty. For tight spaces, the Ariston Slim3 RS 30 or KDK RG30AHM1 are under 34 cm tall. For a bathtub, go to around 50L, but check stock first.
Why avoid a tankless water heater?
An instant (tankless) electric heater serves one outlet and heats a limited flow; Ariston's Aures range tops out at about 7 litres a minute. Two showers at once, a bathtub, or a wide rain shower head are where it falls short. For one person and one shower, it is the cheaper and simpler choice, so there is no reason to avoid it there.
Which water heater brand is most reliable in Singapore?
We have no failure-rate data for any brand, and we did not find any published for Singapore. Compare what the brand puts in writing instead: tank, element and parts warranties differ widely, from 1 year in total to 5 years on the tank and a lifetime on the element.
Is a Wi-Fi water heater worth it?
Only if you will use the scheduling. Ariston's Andris2 Top Wi-Fi 30 costs around $498 and takes 50 minutes to heat because of its 1.5 kW element, while the non-Wi-Fi Pro RS J 35 costs around $304 and heats in 28 minutes.
Can I buy the heater online and get it installed separately?
Yes. Check the SAFETY Mark number, the dimensions and the element power first. A storage heater must be installed by a PUB Licensed Plumber, usually $150–250 for a like-for-like swap, plus $30–80 to take the old one away.
How much does a new water heater cost in total?
A storage swap with a 25–35L unit, installation and disposal usually comes to about $400–800. An instant heater swap usually costs less: around $110–380 for the unit and $120–280 for a plumber's labour. A new power point by an LEW adds $250–450 if you need one.