Skip to content

Updated 16 Oct 2026Instant water heater9 min read

What is the best instant water heater in Singapore?

Quick answer

For most HDB bathrooms with decent pressure, a basic 3.3 kW unit such as the Champs Auriga Core (S$108, 2-year warranty) or Toshiba DSK33ES5SB (S$169) does the job; on a high floor with weak flow, a DC pump model such as the Rubine RWH-933P (S$258) is the cheapest fix we found. Every model we checked is rated 3.3 to 3.5 kW, so none runs much hotter than another; the flow you set decides the temperature.

Why no instant heater is much hotter than another

Search for the hottest instant heater and you will find brands, not numbers. The number is simple. An instant heater adds a fixed amount of heat per second, so the more water you push through it, the less each litre warms up. Every model in our table below lists 3.3 kW or 3.5 kW where the rating is stated.

Here is how much a heater can raise the water temperature at each flow, before any heat loss. Rheem rates its tank heaters with water coming in at 25°C, so the last two columns use the same starting point.

Our arithmetic: rise = watts ÷ (litres per second × 4,186). Real showers lose a little heat on the way out.
Flow at the showerRise at 3.3 kWRise at 3.5 kWOutlet at 3.3 kW (25°C in)Outlet at 3.5 kW (25°C in)
3 L/min15.8°C16.7°Cabout 41°Cabout 42°C
4 L/min11.8°C12.5°Cabout 37°Cabout 38°C
5 L/min9.5°C10.0°Cabout 35°Cabout 35°C
6 L/min7.9°C8.4°Cabout 33°Cabout 33°C

Two things follow. The gap between a 3.3 kW and a 3.5 kW heater is about 1°C at normal flow. And turning the flow down by one litre a minute changes the temperature more than any brand switch will. Toshiba caps the DSK33ES5SB at 48°C at the outlet, which is the only maximum temperature we found published by a maker.

Eight models on sale in October 2026

We checked each model on a brand page or a Singapore retailer's own listing. Prices are the listed price on the day we checked, often a promotion, and they change. Where a spec was not stated anywhere we looked, the table says so.

Checked 16 Oct 2026. Sources are listed in this page's notes. Prices change weekly; confirm before buying.
ModelPrice checkedkWPumpRain showerEarth-leakage cut-off statedWarranty
Champs Auriga CoreS$108 (was S$149), Courts and Harvey Norman3.3NoNoNot stated2 years
Ariston Aures Easy 3.3N SBSS$140, Courts3.3NoNoNot stated12 months
Toshiba DSK33ES5SBS$169 (was S$189), Courts3.3NoNoNot stated1 year (FairPrice listing)
Rubine GOGO RWH-933PS$258 (RRP S$290), Casa3.5DCNo, hand shower on railNot stated5 years element and inner tank, 1 year parts
Champs Virgo Ultra with rain shower setS$278 (was S$319), Harvey NormanNot listedDC boosterYesYes, double-pole RCD24 months
Rubine RWH-3388WS$330 (was S$455), FairPrice, out of stock online3.5DCYesNot stated5 years element and inner tank, 1 year parts
Mistral MSH99MBS$359 (was S$499), Harvey Norman3.3DC inverterYes, per the manualYes, trips at 15 mA (manual)Not stated by retailer
Ariston Aures Premium+ 3.3PRSS$372, Harvey NormanNot confirmedYesYesYes, ELCB12 months

The Rubine RWH-3388 is also sold as the black RWH-3388BHP at S$400 on Casa's shop. Fujioh's FZ-WH5133 range carries a 5-year element warranty too, but we could not find a Singapore price for it, so it is not in the table.

Best for each situation

If you needPickWhy
The lowest price for a plain showerChamps Auriga Core, S$1083.3 kW like the rest, and a 2-year warranty, which is longer than Ariston's or Toshiba's 1 year
Steady temperature on weak flow, no pumpToshiba DSK33ES5SB, S$169Lowest stated minimum flow we found (1.5 L/min), works from 0.03 MPa, ±2°C constant-temperature control
A high floor with weak pressureRubine GOGO RWH-933P, S$258Cheapest DC pump model we found, runs from 0.02 MPa, 5-year element warranty
A rain shower on a budgetChamps Virgo Ultra, S$278Cheapest model with both a rain shower set and a pump, and the RCD is stated on the listing
A rain shower with the longest element coverRubine RWH-3388W, S$330 when in stockSame 5-year element and inner tank cover as the 933P, with a rain shower set
A stated earth-leakage cut-off from a big brandAriston Aures Premium+ 3.3PRS, S$372ELCB, pump and rain shower on one listing; warranty is only 12 months

The Mistral MSH99 is the one we would check most before paying. Its manual shows a rain shower, a DC pump and an ELCB, and at S$359 it is priced with the Ariston, but the Harvey Norman listing gives no warranty period. Ask the seller in writing.

One request we could not fill is a compact heater for a basin or kitchen tap. All eight models are shower units. For a basin, shops sell small under-sink storage tanks instead, such as Rubine's 15-litre Matrix under-sink unit at S$460 on Casa's shop.

A pump gives you spray, not heat

A DC pump is worth paying for when water barely trickles out on the top floors of a block or in a landed home's upstairs bathroom. It raises the flow so the heater switches on reliably and the spray feels like a shower.

It does not add heat. Go back to the first table: if the pump lifts your flow from 3 to 5 litres a minute, the outlet temperature drops by about 6°C on the same 3.3 kW element. On a floor where the flow is already fine, a pump model mostly gives you a stronger, cooler shower.

Rain showers have the same limit. A wide head needs more water to feel full, and an instant heater spreads the same 3.3 kW over all of it. If two or more people want a hot rain shower, look at a tank instead: see instant vs storage.

Check your flow before you buy

Time how long your current shower takes to fill a 1-litre bottle on full. Ten seconds is about 6 L/min, fifteen seconds is about 4 L/min, twenty seconds is about 3 L/min. Under about 2 L/min, many units will not switch on at all; the Ariston Aures Easy and the Rubine 933P both list 2 L/min as their minimum.

Safety labels, and what the labels do not cover

  • SAFETY Mark. Water heaters are Controlled Goods in Singapore and must carry it to be sold here. Casa's listing for the RWH-933P prints its Safety Mark number (211065-11). Avoid overseas listings that do not show one.
  • Earth-leakage protection. Three of the eight state a built-in cut-off, on the listing or in the manual: Champs Virgo Ultra (double-pole RCD), Mistral MSH99 (ELCB, trips at 15 mA) and Ariston Aures Premium+ (ELCB). The other five may have protection, but the Singapore listings we read do not say so. Ask.
  • WELS ticks. PUB's water efficiency labels cover taps, mixers, cisterns, flush valves, washing machines and dishwashers. Water heaters are not on the list, and showerheads are only voluntary, so a heater with no ticks is not breaking any rule.
  • Splash rating. The Ariston Aures Easy, Champs Auriga Core and Toshiba list IP25. That is normal for a unit mounted beside a shower.

Where the spec sheets fall short

We wanted to rank these on maximum outlet temperature at a fixed flow. Only Toshiba publishes a maximum (48°C), and no maker gives it at a stated flow, so that ranking is not possible from public data. Two of the eight do not even give a kW figure on the Singapore listings we read: the Champs Virgo Ultra and the Ariston Aures Premium+. The Ariston's model code ends in 3.3, which suggests 3.3 kW, but the page does not say so.

Warranty wording varies too. Rubine and Fujioh split it into 5 years on the heating element and 1 year on everything else. Champs lists 24 months with no split. A long element warranty does not cover the pump, the control board or the shower set, which are the parts more likely to need a call-out.

Installation: who can do it and what it costs

An instant heater does not need a PUB Licensed Plumber. PUB treats it as simple plumbing work, and that includes the pipe from the stop valve to the heater. The electrical side is different: a new power point or a circuit upgrade must be done by a Licensed Electrical Worker (LEW).

Market ranges from our price research. See [instant water heater prices](/price/instant-water-heater/) for the full breakdown.
ItemTypical range (SGD)
Plumber labour, install or replace120–280
Basic install offered by some retailers with the unit70–90
Instant heater unit110–380
New power point by an LEW, only if there is no suitable point250–450

A straight swap on the same wall, reusing the same point, sits at the low end. Moving the heater, drilling hard tiles for a rain shower rail, or a point that cannot take a 3.3 kW load pushes it up.

We install and replace instant heaters island-wide, 24/7. Send a photo of the old unit's label and the wall it sits on through WhatsApp, and the price is agreed before work starts. Workmanship carries a warranty of 1 week to 1 month depending on the job, and the heater keeps its manufacturer's warranty. See instant water heater installation.

When an instant heater is the wrong buy

An instant heater serves one shower point. If the kitchen sink, a second bathroom or a bathtub needs hot water, you need one heater per point or a tank. Two people showering back to back is fine; two at the same time needs two heaters.

If you are leaning towards a tank, our storage heater comparison covers sizes and models, and the water heater brand overview covers brands across both types. For a tank in a flat, read the HDB storage heater notes first, because a tank needs a PUB Licensed Plumber and an instant heater does not. All types and price bands are on the water heaters page.

Related services

Frequently asked questions

What are the disadvantages of instant hot water?

It heats only what flows through it, so one unit serves one shower point, and the temperature drops as the flow rises. It needs a power point beside the shower that can take a 3.3 to 3.5 kW load, and on a low-pressure floor a basic model may not switch on without a pump. A wide rain shower head will feel cooler than with a storage tank.

Which brand of instant water heater is good?

Brand matters less than power, pump and warranty, because every model we checked is 3.3 to 3.5 kW. For a plain shower, the Champs Auriga Core (S$108, 2-year warranty) and Toshiba DSK33ES5SB (S$169) are good value. For low pressure, Rubine's RWH-933P has a DC pump and a 5-year element warranty at S$258. Prices checked October 2026.

What are the four types of water heaters?

The four usually listed are storage (tank), instant (tankless), heat pump and solar. In Singapore homes you will mostly be choosing between an electric storage heater and an electric instant heater. Gas heaters are also sold where a home has a gas supply.

Which instant water heater is the hottest?

None by much. At the same flow, a 3.5 kW unit is only about 1°C warmer than a 3.3 kW unit. Turning the flow down from 5 to 4 litres a minute raises the temperature by about 2 to 3°C on any of them. Toshiba's DSK33ES5SB is the only one we found with a published cap, 48°C at the outlet.

Do I need a licensed plumber to install an instant water heater?

No. PUB lists installing an electric instant heater, and the pipe from the stop valve to it, as simple plumbing work that does not need a PUB Licensed Plumber. Any new power point or wiring must be done by a Licensed Electrical Worker.

Is a DC pump worth it?

Only if your flow is weak, typically on high floors or upstairs in a landed home. The pump raises flow and spray force but adds no heat, so on a floor with good pressure it mainly gives a cooler shower. The cheapest DC pump model we found was the Rubine RWH-933P at S$258 in October 2026.

How much does it cost to install an instant water heater?

Plumber labour is usually $120 to $280, with the unit extra at roughly $110 to $380. A new power point by a Licensed Electrical Worker adds about $250 to $450, but only if there is no suitable point already.

Read next

WhatsApp usCall